Been invited to do my very first display.

Norrie

Hiya...Well, I have been collecting for a little over two years now, and loving it....it has become a passion, or maybe even an obsession ...think its both actually. 

My wife works in the local nursing home, and they have quite a few residents who are ex WW2 servicemen and women, and a couple of Land Girls too.

So imagine how I felt when the home manager called and asked if I would like to do a display for them in a spare room they have for recreational use....geezus...Would I???? am so chuffed that they even know about my hobby...but it turns out the wife told them all about the collection.

Also got asked how much I would take to do a display....I feel its an honour to let folks see some of my collection....no money involved....I did suggest a donation to HFH if they want tho..... so, its arranged for mid-late January 2019 once New Year etc is out of the way....they are supplying a minibus and two maintenance guys that I already know to collect my items, and help set up the display....then bring it back home...:)

REALLY looking forward to it.

BUT., any suggestions as to what and how to display might be helpful if you could...I mainly have Brit,and US WW2 gear...along with some Korean era and more modern stuff....I need to make up some display boxes out of wooden crates I have...and already have some mannequins...but any ideas?? 

I att a pic taken last summer, but the collection has grown some what...:)

Thanks in advance chaps...:)

20170707_204627.jpg

• Thanks 1

Hello Norrie,

Firstly I commend your Dear Wife for working in a care home, my Mum who was born in Wishaw in October 1920, now sadly for me is in a care home...Miss you Mum.

But I certainly do commend and congratulate that your superb collection will be seen by many of these dear and very elderly ladies and gents who if didn't go through "The Great War" remembered it, and certainly done their best for all during WW2.